and-she-could-be-next-doc Texas Rep. Veronica Escobar in the new documentary 'And She Could Be Next.'
Image via screengrab

And She Could Be Next is a two-part documentary series about the movement of women who transformed American politics and airs tonight. Here’s where to watch it.

And She Could Be Next, a new documentary that will premiere tonight on PBS and POV.org, follows the elections of women of color that made history and revolutionized politics. 

One of them featured in the film is Texas Rep. Veronica Escobar who made history on Nov. 6, 2018, when she defeated Republican Rick Seeberger in the primary election. That night she became the first woman to represent the 16th district. She also made history along with Texas Rep. Sylvia Garcia, as they both became the first Latina congresswomen from their state. Escobar, Garcia, and several other female politicians revolutionized Washington that election year with their impressive takeover of the Congressional House.

Related: A Record Number of Women Are Running for Office in 2020

Directors Grace Lee and Marjan Safinia show the rise of women in political office, as well as the surge of minority voters in their collaborated project. The film takes place between 2018 and 2019. It follows the campaigns of Stacey Abrams, who ran for Governor in Georgia, Michigan Rep. Rashida Tlaib, Georgia Rep. Lucy McBath, Rep. Escobar, California Rep. Maria Elena Durazo, and Illinois Rep. Bushra Amiwala. The directors also highlight women of color who organized voter outreach.

In an interview with the New York Times, Safinia said that networks pressured them to focus their film solely on female politicians. Safinia said they wanted to show the overall impact that women of color have played on changing the dynamic of politics and the women that encouraged minorities to get involved in the political discourse by voting. Executive Producer, Ava DuVernay discussed the powerful impact of these female political leaders and how they had to overhaul a system that worked against them. 

Related: Tuesday Was a Huge Night for Women of Color Candidates

“The American political system was not built for or by us,” DuVernay told the Times. “It was actually built against us. The actual architecture of the American political system was expressly built to oppress, to subjugate and to create a whole narrative of racial bias and oppression.”

Check out the trailer below. 

Where to watch And She Could Be Next:

And She Could Be Next will air over two nights June 29th – 30th on POV on PBS. Search for POV in your TV listings or visit pbs.org to find your local station and broadcast time.

If it’s not airing on your local station, episodes are available for free streaming starting at 9 p.m. EST / 8 p.m. CT / 7 p.m. MT / 6 p.m. PT each night (and for 60 days thereafter) right here, or on pbs.org/pov/shecouldbenext.